Any sausage makers?

Discussion in 'Cooking Forum' started by gdluck, Jan 5, 2017.

1. gdluck

gdluck Elite Refuge Member

I recently started making sausage as a way to consume all the snow geese. There was no way in Haiti I could eat it all by just eating breasts and I had good suspicion that all the people that wanted the meat to which I gave never ate it. I will not have the meat wasted.

So to get more people to help me eat it I started making ground snack sticks and fresh sausage. I also started corning the clean/no to little shot Canada breasts, then on to Pastrami. I've got the Pastrami technique down so well now that I rarely give that away.... its just too good. People that would normally not touch goose meat beg me to have it. It is now a mandatory appetizer for thanksgiving and xmas celebrations. I am still learning on sausage and want to try drying some but the temp and humidity controlled environment will be a challenge.

I was amazed that some of the simple things make a HUGE difference in product quality.

Anybody else making sausage and want to share some spice recipie? I am really in need of a breakfast sausage reciepe that is similar to BOB EVANS.

2. JBRUNO4590

JBRUNO4590 Elite Refuge Member

I make sausage out of our snow geese too, at least when we go. This year is out. But, so far I have made Spicy Cajun sausage, Polish Sausage, brats, snack sticks, summer sausage, to name a few. Haven't tried a breakfast sausage for it yet. Lots of Pepper & sage and I thingk you'd be on the right track..

3. ArmChair Biologist

ArmChair Biologist Refuge Member