A good DSLR Camera under 500

Discussion in 'Gun Dog Forum' started by bigcans, Oct 22, 2017.

1. bigcans

bigcans Refuge Member

Well, if some if you are into capturing your dog retrieving like me then maybe you could lend some advice on buying a camera. I have had a panasonic waterproof ts1 pocket camera but never liked the photos much.
    Wanted to cut down on the bulk but I can't take pictures worth a darn with what I have so I'm in the market to go back to a traditional reg. Sz DSLR.

I was looking at the Nikon D3300. For under 500.00 I'm sure this will do the job for zooming in a bit. I'm no pro. Just enjoy taking pics of the lab. Have tons of 11x14s on the walls for yes. Thanks

Attached Files:

2. KwickLabs

KwickLabs Elite Refuge Member

I take "a lot" of photos training and hunting. Using a smaller camera was not "cutting it". Years ago, I
    bought a Canon EOS Rebel and use two relatively inexpensive lens (Canon 28-135mm and Tamron
    17-50mm "wide angle") plus a Pelican case. Buy used from B&H camera. Spend a bit more. All the
    photos in my Website were taken with this relatively inexpensive combination. I learned about needing
    the Pelican case.....the hard way. :h

I have a more expensive and better lens, but it does NOT lend itself to the quick, spontaneous, action shots
    required when training or hunting.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/801649928-USE/canon_8575b001_eos_rebel_sl1_dslr.html

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/801652407-USE/canon_2562a002_ef_28_135mm_f_3_5_5_6_is.html

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?Ntt=used Tamron 17-50&N=0&InitialSearch=yes&sts=ma&Top+Nav-Search=

https://www.kwicklabsii.com/-cool-photos-.html

Last edited: Oct 23, 2017
  3. teul2

teul2 Senior Refuge Member

Stick with Canon. More people shoot them, and you may be able to borrow lenses from friends. That is the case with me anyway.