Adding a trim button to the tiller?

Discussion in 'Boats, Blinds, & Gadgets Forum' started by StumpJumper, Mar 6, 2018.

  1. StumpJumper

    StumpJumper Refuge Member

    Messages:
    62
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    CenTex
    I just picked up a powrtran tilt unit (kinda like a cmc). It has a giant dual button for the controls. Is there a way I can modify my tiller to change the throttle with one that has the thumb control for the trim?

    Motor is a 2000 Yamaha 25 four stroke.
     
  2. shooter

    shooter Elite Refuge Member

    Messages:
    6,277
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2000
    Location:
    wait... what???
    Your options are only limited by your imagination, provided you are using a power relay and not relying on your switch to carry all the current. Any switch capable of carrying the current directly is going to be large.
    I am currently looking at rigging a thumb switch that mounts in the end of my tiller tube, biggest concern is getting something that is IP67 certified so water doesn't kill it.
    Right now I'm running a simple DPST toggle switch with momentary ON-OFF-ON contacts strapped to my tiller with band clamps.
     
  3. Bubba

    Bubba Senior Refuge Member

    Messages:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I had a CMC on a 40 Tohatsu that I ran the switch to the end of the tiller, but I didn't like it there as much as I thought I would. Mainly because the switch twisted with the throttle and sometimes in the heat of battle I would fail to keep up with the orientation of the switch since it changed as the throttle turned. I moved the switch to the grab bar and ran it with my right hand and that was much preferred by me.
     
  4. buzzkill

    buzzkill Senior Refuge Member

    Messages:
    316
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    E Wa.
    Same here. ^^^^
    I had a Panther unit on my boat. I tried but didn't like the switch on the tiller so I mounted it where I could use with my other hand.
     
  5. metalworx

    metalworx Refuge Member

    Messages:
    60
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Here' how I mounted mine.

    Metalworx Screenshot_20180309-122929.png
     
  6. shooter

    shooter Elite Refuge Member

    Messages:
    6,277
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2000
    Location:
    wait... what???
    I'm running a squeeze throttle, so that wouldn't be an issue for me.
    What switch did you use?
     
  7. Bubba

    Bubba Senior Refuge Member

    Messages:
    440
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I used the switch that came with my CMC.
     

Share This Page