Beretta A400 xtreme and fiocchi 3.5 in shells...

Discussion in 'Shooting - Reloading Forum' started by lethal, Dec 31, 2016.

  1. lethal

    lethal Refuge Member

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    tennessee
    hey guys, anyone having or had problems ejecting these shells, or any other 3.5 in shell from the newest A400? The bolt is coming back and locking open, and the shell is moving back out of the chamber but hanging in the opening of the receiver. my buddies' brownings and winchesters are having no problems with the same shells. coincidently all three guns are new this season. Any help appreciated.
     
  2. leftyhunter

    leftyhunter Senior Refuge Member

    Messages:
    202
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Location:
    CA
    My unscientific analysis is the Fioochis just don't have enough power to cycle the bolt. My SKB 900L could not cycle Fioocis reliably but my Weatherby SA-08 could.
    On the other hand it could be the shell us just a millimeter or so to long.
    My SKB had no problem with Winchester Super X. Maybe try a box of those or a more premium round.
    Leftyhunter
     
  3. White Smoke

    White Smoke New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Location:
    Missouri
    I have not had any problems with those shells out of my a300 extrema. Probably not the shells.My sons A400 had to go back to a service center before it was reliable with 3 1/2 " shells. Try some Kents, and try putting a bit of CLP on the carrier release button.
     
  4. wingmatt

    wingmatt Elite Refuge Member

    Messages:
    2,312
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Location:
    Washington state, west side, Marysville
    I had one 3 1/2 #1 do this in my new Franchi Intensity. I've fired a few others of these, and mostly use #3 Fiochhis and #2 HMs 3 inch shells without a problem. Not sure if it was a fluke or was because the gun hadn't had many shells through it?
     
  5. lethal

    lethal Refuge Member

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    tennessee
    very frustrating. the gun is less than two boxes old. i may try another brand shell just to see the results, but, it is unacceptable to me to pay what i did for a "premium" Italian shotgun that won't shoot shotshells from one of Italy's largest and oldest ammo manufacturers. I'm trying to decide whether to send it in to Beretta, or keep shooting it a while.
     
  6. ronaldo

    ronaldo Senior Refuge Member

    Messages:
    126
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Iowa
    As has been mentioned, it could be the length of the shell after fired. Some hulls are just a bit longer than others after the crimp is opened and they have trouble clearing the ejection port.
     
  7. duckman54

    duckman54 Senior Refuge Member

    Messages:
    371
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Kentucky
    I recently bought a A400 extrema but only use 3'' shells, but I did scour the net trying to get reviews on it before I
    purchased it. From what i remember there were some that said they had problems ejecting the 3 1/2 shells. With that being
    said the first thing I would do as was mentioned above is to check the length of the empty with another brand. A guy left a couple of boxes of Fiocchi 3 1/2's in our blind last year and told us to shoot them up.

    I was shooting my Maxus then, but they would get hung up and not eject. It happened twice in a row and I didn't try anymore of them. Comparing the hull with another you could see it was a little longer.
     
    ronaldo likes this.

Share This Page