Best Climber Stand

Discussion in 'Bow Hunting Forum' started by TeamMD, Apr 15, 2011.

1. TeamMD

TeamMD Refuge Member

I am new to climber style treestands but have picked up a new piece of ground to hunt and I need to be mobile in order to scout the property. What have you guys had experience with and what stand do you like the best for the price? Thanks

2. sherlockbonez

sherlockbonez Senior Refuge Member

Everyone I know uses a summit of some sort.

3. Ducky CPA

Ducky CPA Senior Refuge Member

Second that vote for Summit

4. Mr.Bones

Mr.Bones New England Moderator Moderator

Summit fan here - good stand for the value.

5. Hally

Hally Elite Refuge Member

I'll throw the curve ball...I had a Summit climber and hated it. I may never climb another. I'm not fond of the teeth on the seat and platform that grab the bark. Unless they changed their design in the past 8 year, they are sort of round. I even had a hard time digging into an Ash. Too many times I would get 10 feet up and not feel safe so I sold it.

Since then, I've been in a older model API Grand Slam Bowhunter. The Alui-Tech Bowhunter is the same thing, just comes with a better back rest and footrest. I have had zero problems with this stand. Even climbing hard-barked trees like Oaks, Aspen and Hickorys. I've felt very comfortable 25 feet up. That stand digs in like no tomorrow.

If money were no issue, I'd be climbing a Lone Wolf Wide Sit & Climb II.

Tree stand safety is nothing to screw with. Maybe you can find a few different brands and try them out. If you don't feel safe, don't buy it.
    Safety Harnesses are another thread!

Good luck
    Hally

6. wingmastr23

wingmastr23 Elite Refuge Member

While I can see where Hally is coming from - I have to disagree with his opinion. I have been hunting out of Summit climbers for about 13yrs - and they work great. I get them to grind into a tree just fine.