Bow Hunting Vs. Shotgun

Discussion in 'Bow Hunting Forum' started by waterfowlandy, Oct 13, 2017.

1. waterfowlandy

waterfowlandy New Member

Hello everyone,
    Im new to deer hunting with both gun and bow.
    My question that I've though about a very long time is what is more ethical to kill a deer with, a bow or shotgun?
    I understand that bow can kill a deer with no issues with proper shot placement, but I couldn't see how it could put a deer down for the count like the force a slug could do. I know they can both kill a deer but what weapon would general kill the animal quicker?

2. Native NV Ducker

Native NV Ducker Mod-Duck Hunters Forum, Classifieds, and 2 others Moderator Flyway Manager

Hunting isn't about knocking the animal over. It is about clean kills. Proper arrow placement in the heart/lung area ensures a fairly quick kill. Sure, the animal may run off, but not far. Plenty of rifle hunters have experienced the same thing.

The old, "It isn't the arrow, it is the indian." saying applies. You can put your shotgun slug 4" too far back, and that animal might not die for a day or two. The same applies to an arrow.

'Ethics' comes into play when the hunter decides when to take, or NOT take, the shot. That applies to any type of hunting.

WoodieSC likes this.
  3. WoodieSC

WoodieSC North/South Carolina Flyway Forum Moderator Flyway Manager

Excellent answer, Native.

waterfowlandy, I would just comment that I think it is critical that the hunter fulfill his/her obligation to be proficient with whatever weapon they choose to use.

Since you say you are new to deer hunting with both the shotgun and bow, that implies to me that you could become more proficient with the shotgun faster than the bow, and thus it is the one you should practice with.