Calling Deer

Discussion in 'Big Game Hunting Forum' started by widgeon, Dec 20, 2016.

1. widgeon

widgeon Elite Refuge Member

I've been hunting deer for over 40 yrs and have tried off and on to call them since they started selling deer calls. I've never had any luck, at all, til this year!

One morning, I was in my climber and spotted a buck about 100 yds away. It wasn't a shooter, but I grunted at him with my cheapo plastic grunt call. He stopped and stayed still for a couple minutes. He started walking again and I grunted louder. He turned and walked straight to me and stood 5 feet from the tree I was in. If only he was bigger!

Next morning, I'm in a different tree not seeing a thing. 1100 in the morning, I decided to try to rattle. I rattled once, nothing. Rattled longer and louder, then about 200 yds across a clearcut, I spotted movement. A decent 7 pointer ran right over to where I was and started looking around! Again, not quite big enough, but it was pretty cool.

Anybody else have any luck calling deer?

2. WoodieSC

WoodieSC North/South Carolina Flyway Forum Moderator Flyway Manager

I've never had any luck calling or rattling-in deer. A few weeks back I was watching four bucks out in the middle of a wide opening... two 4's, and a young 7 and a little larger 8, at about 200 yds out. I grunted at them, bleated at them, 'estrus' bleated at them, just to see what they might react to, and nothing caught their attention at all.

A month or so ago I was out looking for coyotes and had an 8 pointer come to a gray fox distress call. Could have blown me over. It was too bad I only had a rimfire rifle with me, although he was a bit young anyway. Maybe I'll add my 'yote calls to my deer pack.

3. Vahunter

Vahunter Senior Refuge Member

I had a doe come to a fawn in distress call one night coyote hunting. Called in foxes etc. with the fawn in distress while deer hunting.

4. WoodieSC