Cape Coral Duck hunting opportunities

Discussion in 'Florida Flyway Forum' started by Neverfail, Mar 15, 2015.

1. Neverfail

Neverfail Refuge Member

I may be moving down to the Cape Coral area this year. Just wondering what duck hunting opportunities are available within a 1 to 1.5 hour drive. I have a 14' duck water boat with blind and a 20hp on back. Plenty of decoys and all the other equipment needed for ducks and geese. I currently live in NJ. We kill a fair amount of ducks and geese. I was just wondering what I can expect down there. I've been chasing waterfowl for 40 years. I'm still as excited to hunt as the first day I went with my dad. Please let me know. Thanks Mark

2. Glades Ranger

Glades Ranger Elite Refuge Member

Definitely the Big O (Lake Okeechobee). You will have a lifetime of scouting and ducking. You won't need the goose decoys.:D Mostly ringbills, teal, woodies, mottleds. When you go be prepared: GPS, lights, requisite safety gear. Low water times it gets tricky. Moore Haven will be your destination. PM me for future info.:tu

3. duckmanJR

duckmanJR Senior Refuge Member

Goose decoys(especially snows) are easily turned into Blackbelly or Fulvous tree duck decoys...don't get rid of them.

4. Glades Ranger

Glades Ranger Elite Refuge Member

Neverfail, forgot to mention that the Florida Wildlife Commission site( myfwc.com) has a lot of info on WMA's and general hunting info with frequent updates. I also recommend United Waterfowlers of Florida and their website (unitedwaterfowlersfl.org; lots of good folks and good info- especially after becoming a member ($25/year). We have teal season at the end of September that last year was expanded in days and limits. I bet there are some Florida west coast duck hunting opportunities near you.

5. DR. MOSSBERG

DR. MOSSBERG Refuge Member

Neverfail