Chili

Discussion in 'Cooking Forum' started by tcc, Feb 9, 2018.

1. tcc

tcc Elite Refuge Member

Let's talk chili recipes. I'm gonna make a big pot thus weekend for church and it's one thing I'm not very good at. I want a really good basic Texas style chili--- no beans, just deep rich flavorful beef(although I'll probably add some smoked pork butt), tomatoes, onions , etc.
    What's your favorites?

olepal and goosnit like this.
  2. Native NV Ducker

Native NV Ducker Mod-Duck Hunters Forum, Classifieds, and 2 others Moderator Flyway Manager

From another site..

5 lbs of chili ground beef or venison, haven't tried duck/goose yet.
    - 1 lb "Hot" breakfast sausage (Jimmy Dean kinda stuff)
    Brown meat and drain fat.

- 2 16 oz cans of Tomato Sauce
    - 2 cans chicken broth
    - 2 cans of beef broth
    - 1 can "hot" rotel
    - 1 can diced Tomatoes ( add more if you like)
    - 6 oz chili powder (Red Meskin, Anaheim, or your favorite)
    - 2 Tbls garlic powder
    - 1 oz salt
    - 1/2 Tbls black pepper
    - 1 oz cumin
    - 1 tbsp cayenne pepper ( a little more if you want it hot)
    - 2 Tbls onion powder
    - 1 Tbls Sriracha chili sauce ( add more if your adventurous)
    - 1/3 cup of ketchup (don't laugh)

Mix all ingredients in a large crockpot or stockpot, add browned meat and simmer for about 2 hrs, stirring occasionally.

I have used this in local chili contests, 1st place each time.

3. burgawboy

burgawboy Elite Refuge Member

Ground venison, whole chopped onion, crushed tomatoes with basil, rotel, salsa, chili powder, small can of white corn(for color and a nice little sweet pop every now and again while chewing) a pack of Mccormicks chili seasoning.....I do use bush's hot chili starter which contains beans.

OneShotBandit and Luigi Daniele like this.
  4. tcc

tcc Elite Refuge Member

How many does that serve Native?
    I need to feed 40-50.