Duck Hunting Help??

Discussion in 'Colorado Flyway Forum' started by Goose Hunter Jr., Oct 4, 2001.

1. Goose Hunter Jr.

Goose Hunter Jr. Elite Refuge Member

If you do not know I am fairly new to waterfowl hunting(this will be my 3rd year), I have a few places to hunt goose, but nowhere for duck. Where would be a good place for me to go where I jump shoot or just sit there and hope they would fly by for some pass shooting. I do not have any decoys yet. I do not want to buy any until I can find some more of a permanemt place to go and how to call them in. Thanks for the help in advance.

2. jack hamman

jack hamman Guest

yOU HAVE A NUMBER OF PLACES TO GO LIKE BRUSH STATE WILDLIFE AREAS, (SOUTH PARK, LIKE ANTERO RES, SPINNEY RES.AND THE STATE WILDLIFE AREA ALONG THE SOUTH PLATE RIVER.) I DON`T KNOW WERE IN CO YOU LIVE YOU HAVE BONNEY RES AND THE AREA AT HAIL ON THE OTHER SIDE ON THE DAM. BEST THING TO DO IS LOOK AT YOUR FISHING REG. BOOK AND IT TELLS YOU ABOUT ALL RECREATIONS AT THE DIFFERENT RES.

jack 1 there coming in!!! ;)

3. EMan

EMan Senior Refuge Member

BlackLabHunter,

If you haven't visited to CDOW web site, here's a link to the State Wildlife Area Section. It includes maps and directions.

http://www.wildlife.state.co.us/swa/index.asp

By the way you can get 1 Dozen Flambeau Mallard Dekes for under $40 on Ebay. You gotta start some where.

Good luck
    Eric

[ 10-07-2001: Message edited by: EMan ]

4. EMan

EMan Senior Refuge Member

Some Information.

State Wildlife Area Maps and Information
    Title: Brush Prairie Ponds
    County: Morgan
    Region: Northeast
    Location: Located appx. 2 miles S of Brush. From I-76, take Brush exit 90A, go S to Hwy 34. Take Hwy 34 W to Clayton Street. Travel S on Clayton Street to the Check Station, then S 2.25 miles to parking area.
    Elevation: 4,271 feet
    Acreage: 1600 acres