Boats & Blinds Forum Sponsors

First time boat buyer

Discussion in 'Boats, Blinds, & Gadgets Forum' started by Hunter4lyfe702, Aug 5, 2018.

1. Hunter4lyfe702

Hunter4lyfe702 New Member

I used to live in Las Vegas, NV. I now live in Charleston, SC on orders here from the Air Force! Never needed a boat to hunt before, so I have no experience in duck hunting boats. Thought I’d get some recommendations from experienced folks. I’ve been doing some scouting out here and come to learn that not much, if any at all areas are accessible by the ol toe and ankle express; so if you have any recommendations or tips that would be awesome!
    Thanks,
    Curtis

2. Fowler267

Fowler267 Elite Refuge Member

Hard to beat a plain old 16-18 ft aluminum johnboat for usefulness. A 9.9 up to 50 or more HP will give you lots of options and can fish, hunt and do family entertainment etc plus is easy to sell if your situation changes.

I have a 17 ft with a 40 hp outboard and have used it in tight flooded timber, rivers small to as big as we have as well as large lakes and near shore Atlantic ocean.

Hunter4lyfe702 likes this.
  3. Hunter4lyfe702

Hunter4lyfe702 New Member

Johnboats are exactly what I was just looking at. Only thing I would be concerned is how much weight can they handle? I don’t usually hunt alone, and especially being in a boat in a unfimilaier place. Do you hunt alone with you rig?

4. cholt

cholt Senior Refuge Member