Full Bodies Vs Silos

Discussion in 'Decoy Forum' started by Troller, Jan 20, 2017.

1. Troller

Troller Senior Refuge Member

I am a newbie looking for a good thread on Full Bodies Vs Silos.

Anyone remember any good ones? Maybe I should good better with the search function? Lol.

Thanks in Advance.

Hunter_r925 likes this.
  2. Native NV Ducker

Native NV Ducker Mod-Duck Hunters Forum, Classifieds, and 2 others Moderator Flyway Manager

People kill lots of birds over both. It is a matter of how you hunt, how much you have to pack in, or if you drive in. That, and money.

3. joecitrano

joecitrano Senior Refuge Member

I have lots of both n like them both. They each have a time and place.

4. bang you'r dead

bang you'r dead Canada Forum Mod. Eh! Moderator Flyway Manager

I've seen hunts where silos did better than full bodies, probably due to the illusion of movement as the birds fly past the spread. It you have to walk into the field any distance, then it is a no brainer. I can pack a hundred silos into my layout blind and carry it out with all my gear on one trip. Can't do that with full bodies.

5. kaiserduckhelm

kaiserduckhelm Senior Refuge Member

We sold all of our full bodies and run silos now. No regrets. Going to add some sleeper shells for sandbar and ice hunts and some silosocks for field hunting. We don't goose hunt cornfields much anymore but if we do I like hunting them in the snow or some kind of precip, that where silos win hands down.

6. Ringbill

Ringbill Elite Refuge Member Flyway Manager

I've used silos for many decades now & also like mixing them often times with shells.
    I do also have some dandy full bodies and they too look great, but they're not very
    versatile. Silos are THE most versatile, IMO. They look good, move some in a wind, easy to store, easy to haul out to the blind site, give the illusion of movement etc.
    Oh----cheaper than most full bodies.

Ringbill

7. Troller

Troller Senior Refuge Member