Home Made "flip over" blind.

Discussion in 'Boats, Blinds, & Gadgets Forum' started by wingin'it, Nov 6, 2017.

1. wingin'it

wingin'it New Member

This is my first attempt at a blind on a boat, very happy with it!
    The boat is an alumacraft 1648 mod-v that I built my own console for and outfitted it with a 50 johnson, and with some tweaks and adjustments I'm flirting with 40mph, fun little boat!

The blind works great, and now that things are turning brown I have put an additional covering on using die-cut sawgrass blind material, blends in just fine!

warrenwaterfowler and Fowler267 like this.
  2. Fowler267

Fowler267 Elite Refuge Member

Ill be the first to say that I hated my own Beavertail blind but that is a very impressive build!!!

I like the cargo post idea!

My only complaint would be the blind hanging outside the gunnels when stowed.

3. wingin'it

wingin'it New Member

There isn't too much I would change about it, aside from making the span longer to the front so fitting the cover around the bow would be simpler while making it. The reason I didn't was being worried the front bar would be too low for the dog, but now I realize he could easily go under it (he's an athletic little 65 pounder).

I didn't want the blind over the gunnel either so I tried to keep it to a minimum, and it hasn't been an issue, the boat when up on plane and cruising is only riding on the last 3 or 4' of hull so the water never touches it, even with my regular hunting partner, my dog, and our gear loaded in there.