Hunting related legal controversies

Discussion in 'Hunters Rights Forum' started by mbalestra, Sep 26, 2006.

1. mbalestra

mbalestra Refuge Member

All,

I am a law student desperately in need of an article topic for the Kentucky Law Journal. I am an avid waterfowler and would love to write on a hunting-related topic that can hold my interest; however, I've tried in vain and failed thus far to find anything good. Does anyone have any suggestions or jumping off points from which I can find a topic? I'd be happy to hear any and all thoughts. Thanks a lot.

Mike Balestra

2. The Other David

The Other David Elite Refuge Member

Mike,

Tell us more. Gun related? Sunday hunting? Bucks only?

David

3. mbalestra

mbalestra Refuge Member

Well, I purposely wanted to invite any and all suggestions on what you all find interesting. The more hotly debated and rooted in statutes and case law, the better. Gun related issues are always good and there is plenty of law behind them.

My best option thus far regards the Supreme Court decision (or lackthereof) in June concerning the proper interpretation of the CLean Water Act regarding wetlands adjacent to navigable waterways. The court did not produce a majority opinion on whether or not these wetlands were contemplated by the law and thus leave the issue for lower courts and agencies to decide on a case-by-case basis. If it is found that the Act did not contemplate those wetlands, no permit would be required from the Army Corps of Engineers before draining and filling those wetlands for development. If I chose this topic, I could analyze the court's decision, the Act itself, and any legislative history to try and figure out what is really meant. I would also survey jurisdictions around the country to gauge what interpretations are favored and where. Until Congress tells us what they meant, the future of these wetlands is in limbo.