Juneau in July

Discussion in 'Alaska Flyway Forum' started by creighton58, Jan 10, 2011.

1. creighton58

creighton58 Elite Refuge Member

I am currently in my last semester of classwork in the Doctor of Pharmacy program at Purdue University and just found out that I will be placed in Juneau for four weeks as part of my clinical rotations this summer. I will be working at the South Eastern Alaska Regional Health Center (SEARHC) from July 2-July 30, 2011.

Our clinical rotations run for one full year and our locations change every 4 weeks. Purdue does not pay or provide any housing (even though we still get to pay full tuition!). As you can imagine, it is often difficult to get 4 week leases in apartments and other locations. I have been speaking with students who have completed this rotation in the past and individuals at SEARHC about my housing options for the 4 weeks I will be there.

The reason I'm posting here is simply to see if anyone on the forums is in that area and owns any apartments or knows anyone who would be willing to rent something to me for 4 weeks. I have character references and any other information if needed. Any information or leads anyone could give me would be greatly appreciated!

On another note, what are my outdoor options this time of year? I will have a lot of free time in the evenings and on the weekends and would love to get out and do some fishing and/or hunting. Thanks again for any info.

2. Erich_870

Erich_870 Senior Refuge Member

An early welcome from Juneau!

It would be difficult to line up an affordable place to stay for a new city every 4 weeks! :eek: I don't know of anyone off the top of my head who has a place for rent so I suggest to you post a message on the SE Alaska Craigslist page. Make it specific and as "anti-spam" as you can.