lares to other single reeds

Discussion in 'Duck & Goose Calling Forum' started by Quakbangsplash, Jan 22, 2018.

1. Quakbangsplash

Quakbangsplash Refuge Member

I have been blowing a lares for a couple years and can definitely work ducks with it. I just got back from Arkansas hunting with a buddy of mine who is a great caller. I tried his call and had a hard time getting a duck out of it. It was a single reed as well and a lot of the calls I have been messing with lately seem to operate different then mine. I want to get another call to practice on and make sure I am presenting my air properly. I would like to eventually be able to pick up any call and blow it well. I have been looking at the RM calls as they seems to be held in high regards around here. Do they run more like a typical J frame single reed or are they super raspy and require "clean air" just like the lares? I am basically looking for another call that is similar to most in the way it runs as I hear a lot of people talk about how lares and cut downs require different techniques and I learned on a lares.
    Thanks for any feedback and I hope this makes sense.

2. stumpjumper0531

stumpjumper0531 Elite Refuge Member Sponsor

The rasp is built into an RM boss. No need to grunt or growl...blow as you would into a single reed j-frame call with hot air.

STUMP

choc24/7 and DrakeStar like this.
  3. CA Birdman

CA Birdman Elite Refuge Member

I have run Lares exclusively the last dozen or so years in the duck blind but I always try out a call or two a year. Lares unlike many don't stick and that is due to toneboard design. Lares can take a little more air than a lot of calls. If you have proper technique, within a minute you should be able to pickup most calls and produce a good sounding call. My son has developed into a great caller and he blows a Lares Hybrid and has an RNT daisy cutter on his lanyard and both sound great. It just takes some practice.

4. Mr. Chokesonducks