Canadian Hunters Forum Sponsors

Mandatory guide nonsense

Discussion in 'Canadian Hunters Forum' started by TSteve, Mar 17, 2006.

1. TSteve

TSteve Refuge Member

What is this mandatory guides for non residents foolishness? Are the outfitters grouping together and getting greedy? Are they tired of American's coming up and out hunting them? Where is this nonsense coming from?? :confused:

I have been hunting Saskatchewan for 30 years. God willing, I will hunt there another 30. Make guiding mandatory and I will buy one of my many CDN friends a guides licence. Heck, they would probably buy it themselves just so we would come up.

As wonderful as the Prairie People are, I can't imagine who all this negativity towards US waterfowlers is coming from, unless it involves money and that leads us back to the guides.

Sure we come up and out hunt, out scout, and out perform the few local guides we have encountered. We also get to hunt much better places than they do because the farmers and landowners can't stand the guides.

Is that what is driving all this?

2. Britman

Britman Senior Refuge Member

They should setup a tag system for non-res, 3 or 4 days worth of tags, out of tags you're done hunting. But as I don't live out there I'm not in the know, ya know...

I'm sure some of the guys out west will chime in anytime....

3. havenhunter

havenhunter Elite Refuge Member

Is that what is driving all this?

What is driving this? Take a step back and look at this from a residents perspective for a moment because you are only partly right about guides wanting more business.

1) illeagal guide services who gather thier clients south of the border and spend weeks in Canada under the guise of hunting with thier "friends" or acting as a "tour guide". That or call what they do a "duck club".

2) non residents who stay up here for weeks, shoot daily limits and gift birds so they can stay with in possesion limits.