Oklahoma Flyway Forum Sponsors

Millet Planting

Discussion in 'Oklahoma Flyway Forum' started by duxndog, Jul 11, 2016.

1. duxndog

duxndog New Member

Hey all,

I've been working on building a duck hole out on my farm for a few years and the dozer work finally started Saturday. The duck hole will be 4+acres and controllable with a dike and gate. I'm wanting to plant millet when they finish up in a couple weeks and wanted opinions on types of millet and planting methods anyone has had experiences with...location is Muskogee area. Looking for first hand knowledge on the topic?? Thanks in advance!

2. me&mylab

me&mylab Elite Refuge Member

I've always planted it the second half of August. Simply top seed it on shiny mud and hope the rains fall right.

The cost to you for availing yourself of my knowledge is an invite to hunt it this fall!

3. TUGREENHEADHUNTER

TUGREENHEADHUNTER Senior Refuge Member

I have a spot near wagoner just like the one you are describing. I will not plant my millet until around the 20th of Aug. With the heat we are having right now the millet will burn up. Jap millet has about a 60 day germination cycle and will be ready for you to put water on it before the start of season. I have good experiences with Japanese, Foxtail, brown top, proso millet and buck wheat. You shouldn't have any problems getting the Japanese millet at the farmers co-op. Good luck with it. Let me know if you have any questions.

4. duxndog

duxndog New Member

Thank you both for the insight. TU,what method of planting do you use. I've found several places that carry Jap Millet, but only found Chouteau Lime to carry Jap, Foxtail, and pearl millet. Does a a mix, or single type work best. I'd love to visit with you more about how to manage your wetland as this is all new to me...thanks guys

5. cs

cs Elite Refuge Member