'Mobile' or 'Sit n Wait'?

Discussion in 'Turkey Hunters Forum' started by HunterRed, Mar 18, 2016.

1. HunterRed

HunterRed New Member

Im pretty new to turkey hunting, last season was my first. Loved every minute of it, saw some birds but didn't get any shots off. My question for those of you who have done it a while, is your preferred method of hunting gobblers to call and move closer to them and be more mobile or to squat and find your tree and call and let them come all the way to you? I'm sure all kinds of factors play into your decision, just wanting to hear some of your opinions. Good luck to you all this season and shoot straight!

2. marsh-mello

marsh-mello Elite Refuge Member

Being where they are is #1...then calling sparingly and having limitless patience has put more birds in the dirt for me and my kids than anything else. Don't be afraid to take a nap, and rest your mind while becoming a stone. If you are just walking around without a plan hoping to get a bird to respond IMHO you are committing a cardinal sin which most inexperienced hunters do. If you have other hunters walking around then accept they probably have already blown it for you and time to get up and find unmolested territory, or accept waiting even longer for things to "return to nature." I have moved on a few but usually after a whole day of nothing coming in and only as a last resort and have a intimate understanding of the lay of the land and the birds locations. Countless birds will come in without a sound and every single person here probably without exception has got up only to spook a bird or two.