Need some help guys

Discussion in 'Goose Hunting Forum' started by IAsnow goose, Jul 19, 2004.

1. IAsnow goose

IAsnow goose Elite Refuge Member

I recently started shooting a Remington 870 Express Super Magnum.......I want to shoot it becasue of the 3 1/2" capability.....but I cant hit crap with it...I dont know what the deal is......but I have been shooting a Mossberg 600(not 500) for about 3 years now and can hit all kinds of ducks and geese with it...but it only shoots 2 3/4" and 3"...what should I do??...Keep shooting the Remington and see how it works during the season...or can I really kill honkers with 3"??....thanks...IAsg

2. JEDJR

JEDJR Elite Refuge Member

You can surely kill honkers with a 3 inch magnum. Have you tried patterning your gun? What size shot or you using? What choke? All guns shoot/pattern different. My nephew shoots a modified in his and spanks snows and specks with 3 1/2 BB and 1 's.

3. IAsnow goose

IAsnow goose Elite Refuge Member

I havent tryed patterning guns...for target shooting on the Remington Ive been using 7 or 8 shot and and an extra full choke.....on the Mossberg its the same shot size but a modified choke....

4. carolinaduckhunter

carolinaduckhunter Elite Refuge Member

IA, I take my gun and try to pattern it using what shells I am shooting most ie...goose bb's or 1's. I put up a target with a goose that is approx life size and move back approx the distance I should be shooting from. Then I aim at the body and fire. Then based on the pattern I know whether or not that gun is going to shoot that particular shot size well enough for geese or ducks. I try other size that would be suitable then make a determination. Who knows if your gun puts more shoot to the left when shooting dead on then you have to compensate for that in your lead......my $.02 worth.

5. KDW

KDW Senior Refuge Member