Need trainer/training advice

Discussion in 'Gun Dog Forum' started by Sandshark, Oct 31, 2017.

1. Sandshark

Sandshark New Member

Just got a new pup and wondered-----when should I start gun dog training, should I train him myself admitting I have never done that before and if yes, what program is best for owner training? Lastly if owner training fails is there a good gun dog trainer near Crisfield, Maryland that anyone can recommend.

2. KwickLabs

KwickLabs Elite Refuge Member

Train him yourself and keep it simple at first. Too much information can be overwhelming. In addition, the first several weeks will
    be more fun if you avoid getting swamped with advice. Two easy rules to follow are keep it simple and avoid mistakes. The second one is more difficult because of not knowing what mistakes look like.

The following link will provide a solid start and allow you some time to "see the path". In addition, a good mentor is wonderful.....finding one is not that easy. Sometimes you get lucky with that. :yes Most of all think about working at being an exciting, fun teaching trainer.

http://www.gundogsupply.com/soberet...MI5IWW66qb1wIVAg9pCh2BeA8REAAYASAAEgK-vfD_BwE

3. fnsret

fnsret Refuge Member