New to deer hunting

Discussion in 'Bow Hunting Forum' started by chris2500hd, Oct 16, 2012.

1. chris2500hd

chris2500hd Senior Refuge Member

I am new to deer hunting and was wondering if you guys could help me out.I have been watching a group of does walk out of my neighbors property every night and I have permission from him to hunt it. Here is the catch. His property is directly off off a highway that the deer cross to get to a been field. So if i shoot one there is a pretty good chance it will run wildly into the highway over to the bean field. I have also obtained permission from the farmer to retrieve a deer if need be but he will not allow me to hunt it . I do not like the idea of sending a wounded deer across the highway and the deer only travel that small corner of his property before going on to another persons property. What are your thoughts thanks if advanced for your answers.

2. widgeon

widgeon Elite Refuge Member

It's hard to imagine exactly what your spot looks like, but from what you said, I think I'd probably find another place to hunt.

How far away from the roadway is it? What are you going to be hunting with? Probably a bow since you posted here. :)

If you can pick your shots carfully, maybe it would work out.

3. chris2500hd

Yes I will be hunting with a bow. I will be placing myself as far back from the road as possible. Its maybe 80 yards at the most from the highway. I will try and get an image posted so you can better understand

4. northerner

northerner Senior Refuge Member

If the deer are crossing the highway to feed, there is a good chance they won't run that way if hit...no guarantees, but you might be ok.

5. widgeon

widgeon Elite Refuge Member

Maybe you could put up a couple of those deer crossing signs with an arrow sticking out of the deer. :yes

6. chris2500hd

:l :l:l:l or i could just move the crossing to another place that more convenient for me . http://www.viddler.com/v/800b0af0

7. huntnharris