options for tall archer

Discussion in 'Bow Hunting Forum' started by Glades Ranger, Jul 4, 2013.

1. Glades Ranger

Glades Ranger Elite Refuge Member

I'm still learning, somewhat of a novice at 59, and I am not getting any younger. My first bow was a Bear Magnum 44" ATA, and presently I have a Reflex Caribou 44" ATA, 30" DL, set at 70#. I am 6'4" so I have felt comfortable with the two bows and have not really been able to find a shorter bow that might work. So far I've gone several times for turkey, feeling very confident but no cigar as yet. Target shooting is one thing but hunting another. I just did a brisk 4 mile walk in hot weather and shot 20 arrows afterwards to try and simulate something like hunting. I am mostly a scattergun wingshooter but I love shooting the bow. Can anyone point me in the right direction for a shorter ATA bow that might work?? My Doghouse blind is just big enough for gun shooting for spring turkey but nowhere big enough for sit down or stand up bow hunting. Can anyone suggest a blind for bow hunting that is big enough for me?? I am mostly using mechanical releases and still learning finger shooting but prefer the former method. Almost every bow out there today is "tiny" compared to mine so this is why I am at a loss. Those of you that employ a long stick bow/traditional, besides stalking, what type of blinds are you using? I don't really want to get up in the trees, as my goal is a Osceola turkey- they are hard enough with a shotgun so thus my challenging choice.

2. cootmeurer

cootmeurer Elite Refuge Member

OK, I am only 5'11 1/2" but I have a Primos Double Bull that works quite well. I have also loaned it to a friend that is 6'4" and my baby brother who is 6'6". They all say it is large enough to sit in.