Recurve shooters?

Discussion in 'Bow Hunting Forum' started by Sunklands, Jul 26, 2016.

1. Sunklands

Sunklands Senior Refuge Member

Do any of you guys shoot and or hunt with a recurve or long bow? I've been bowhunting since I was 12 years old and just last year I started shooting a recurve. I wish I would have made the switch from compound to traditional 20 years ago. I've filled my tag nearly every year since I was 15 and its been my favorite type of hunting. Now that I've switched to traditional (no sights, no rest, no release) its made shooting alot more rewarding.

2. widgeon

widgeon Elite Refuge Member

I have a recurve and a longbow and love to shoot both. When I had the legs for it, I used to spend all day hunting on the ground for deer. I didn't get many, but had a LOT of fun. If I could, I'd still be hunting like that.

I prefer a compound for tree stand hunting. It's just easier to work with.

3. Sunklands

What type recurve do you have?

4. Buckmark311

Buckmark311 Senior Refuge Member

I like recurve/longbow hunting deer AFTER I have gotten my archery buck for the season. Its hard enough to get one with a compound by me, I don't need to make the game any harder. A few times a year I also go for the geese with flu flu's. that's a lot of fun because you get multiple shots on a flock if you are tucked in nice. there isn't a shotgun blast to scare them.

5. widgeon

widgeon Elite Refuge Member

I have a Browning Wasp. Had it since I was 14.

6. Billy Bob

Billy Bob Elite Refuge Member

I've always hunted with a recurve because of the added challenge of getting within 25 yards. I think there should be a separate primitive archery season, compounds are far too advanced now and I see guys taking 70 yard+ shots on deer and elk. I started using a recurve for waterfowl last season and had more fun not getting anything than I've ever had shooting a gun and killing hundreds of birds per season.

7. Archeryrob

Archeryrob Elite Refuge Member