Rice Field Spread

Discussion in 'Decoy Forum' started by JohnnyMac, Oct 15, 2003.

1. JohnnyMac

JohnnyMac Senior Refuge Member

Hey guys,

I am new to what you would call serious duck hunting.

Growing up my friends and I snuck around taking pot shots.

With age comes new resources and thus new opportunities. This year I will be hunting some out of a pit in an open rice field. What is the best spread pattern and the best number of dekes to put out? Also, would you recommend a so called "robo" duck with the spinning wings, if so how many and where should they be put?

I've seen many posts dealing with self-constructed decoys. I am sure that this is the best way, but if you had to recommend a brand what would it be? Flambeaus I see are relatively inexpensive anything wrong with them?

Any advice you could share with me will be greatly appreciated.

2. SwampHunter

SwampHunter Elite Refuge Member

JM,
    Welcome to The Refuge!

If you visit the Arkansas section of The Refuge you will find a post on how to roll a rice field for duck hunting. In that post I have attached a piture of what we did when we hunted pits. It shows how to set the decoys for all kinds of wind conditions.
    I don't recommend a spinner. A jerk string is what I recommend. Those Wing Magic decoys are nice too. I have one that I don't need, so if you want it, I will cut you a deal on it.
    As far as decoys, go with the ones that you like the looks of and fit your budget. Those Greenhead Gear decoys are very nice in my opinion.

Everyone is going to have their own techniques and choices they will think is best. You have to find your own too.

Where are you located in AR? I am in Augusta.

Take Care,
    Ronnie Ladd

3. twospots

twospots Elite Refuge Member