Short reed goose orgin?

Discussion in 'Duck & Goose Calling Forum' started by BAYDOG, Mar 19, 2018.

1. BAYDOG

BAYDOG Moderator- Diver, NY Forum, Refuge Classifieds Sponsor Moderator Flyway Manager

Phelps,New York (Heart of the Finger Lakes)
    Who designed the first short reed goose call? Bet they wished they'd have patented that lol. It seems Foiles made them famous, but I know there is more to it.

2. duckbuster5901

duckbuster5901 Senior Refuge Member

Anyone know if Foiles is still in business? I,ve contacted phone numbers listed on his ROK Outdoors site but haven,t received any call backs after leaving multiple messages. Got and old Strait Meat Goose call in need of freshing up and retune.

3. William Reinicke

William Reinicke New Member

I am by no means an expert when it comes to knowing this. I know the original clucker guts that Knight and hale made were some of the very first guts made for short reed goose calls. With that being said, after people blew them for some time they broke in and created their own groove and had that groove remade. For example if you look on Saunders website and their goose gut systems, they even advertise them as remakes of his own clucker guts thats were blown for 12 years. Even his standard red guts are very similar to the original clucker guts but have a different cut on the bottom and the wedge has grooves cut in the bottom of them. As far as patenting, I would assume that once companies had this groove in their original clucker gut remade, they werent going against the patent (if there was one) because it was different due to the broke in groove. Please people correct me if I am wrong but this is what I have assumed since I have buddies who have created calls and small companies and have found ways around patents that other companies may have.

4. Kendall Steffensen

Kendall Steffensen Senior Refuge Member

My guess is Charlie Hess can be credited with the first short reed.

Kendall