Silouette's for Canada Geese ???

Discussion in 'Goose Hunting Forum' started by BADLARRY250, Feb 12, 2018.

1. BADLARRY250

BADLARRY250 Senior Refuge Member

I've never used silouette's for Canada's before and im thinking about getting some for my spread. Just wondering what people like for hate about them. What brand do you like?

2. Montauker

Montauker Elite Refuge Member

Plus - light and you can carry a large rig in a pickup truck. They don't collect snow like FBs.

Cons- can be difficult in frozen ground, sunny days can be challenging, IMO- you need 200+ of them.

I bought 120 dive bombs to add to my fullboy rig, but homemades can be just as if not more effective. Real Geese are very popular as well.

BADLARRY250 likes this.
  3. BADLARRY250

BADLARRY250 Senior Refuge Member

i only have 3 dozen full body avians right now and another 2 dozen shells, so i thought silouettes might help me a bit. a friend of mine bought canada silo socks and they did not work very well for us, and we tried those multiple times through out the season

4. Montauker

Montauker Elite Refuge Member

My comment about needing 200+ of them is if that is the only kind of decoy you run. There a lot of variables.

In my opinion the canada socks either move too much or not at all.

Your next $350 can buy a dozen lesser Avians ($350), 8 Big Foot B2s ($300), 24 Real Geese (actually $400) or 60 Dive Bombs w/ a bag ($350ish).

I like the size that silos offer and I think that they pop much better from a distance but I also like having full bodies including FFDs on the down wind side.

5. Back2Maryland

Back2Maryland Senior Refuge Member