Smart weed - Barnyard Grass Question

Discussion in 'Habitat Forum' started by Bill Gammel, Mar 12, 2019.

1. Bill Gammel

Bill Gammel New Member

I have seen Smartweed and Barnyard Grass listed as good companion crops for ducks. Being a complete beginner at moist soil management, I am confused. I thought it would be more of an either or with those two species. I thought BYG was released by spraying with 2-4D on broadleaf species and that would kill the smartweed and Roundup would kill the BYG but not the Smartweed. So I am confused as to how to manage them together. Or Do they mean if one doesn't make a good crop the other will?

Please let me know what I am missing.

Thanks in advance

2. Clayton

Clayton Moderator Moderator

Roundup will kill both if they are growing. One does not have to spray to get either of those plants. I don't spray to release barnyardgrass unless the area is dominated by undesirable broadleaves. Smartweed would not fall into that category. Now lets say you have an area that is 70% undesirable and 15% smartweed and 15% barnyardgrass. One could spray the whole area with roundup to completely start over or even starting over by disking. IF in early summer when moisture is still good. Late summer I would stick to just the 2,4-D spraying. An exception would be if you had the capabilities to irrigate the area. Sometimes you can get lucky and spray/disk around your desirable vegetation if not heavily intermixed with the bad.

3. DuckHunter942

DuckHunter942 New Member

Smartweed and Barnyard grass are listed as FACW species, meaning they both prefer hydric environments. From my observations, Smartweed seems the 'wetter' of the two though.

4. Bill Gammel

Bill Gammel New Member