Tampa Area Duck Hunting

Discussion in 'Florida Flyway Forum' started by FloridaFowler, Sep 24, 2007.

1. FloridaFowler

FloridaFowler Senior Refuge Member

Hey guys, this is my first year huntin' in the Tampa area (work schedule didn't allow for it last year)...moved here a year ago from Tallahassee, and I know less than nothing about huntin' the area :z . I plan to make a few long trips to Merritt Island this year, but that's about it.

I would never, ever want anyone to think I'm trying to cyber-scout here...just need to know a few bodies of water that allow hunting so I can get out and scout. I'm willing to drive up to an hour and a half or so. Any help with lake names would be great.

Also, I drive across the Courtney Campbell Causeway every day in the fall, and I see several groups of hundreds of bluebills and ringneck (maybe some others, too) rafted up on the bay...anyone know what the regulations are on hunting the bay? I have a layout boat, so I think I could probably slay a limit out there about as quickly as we used to in the big water on Lake Seminole.

I've never been a big poster on this forum, although I read just about every thread....just want you to know I enjoy the stories and pics, and look forward to contributing more this year. Thanks a ton in advance.

2. Greenhead2

Greenhead2 Elite Refuge Member

Dont know much about huntin the Tampa area, but shoot me a PM if you come over to Merritt Island.

3. jadda

jadda Senior Refuge Member

PM Sent. And for the record ... We have no stnking ducks!

4. cracker4112

cracker4112 Refuge Member

Pm sent... and Jadda's right!

5. FloridaFowler

Well, if there are no ducks in the area, as you guys have said, where does a duckaholic get his/her fix? I'm willing to drive.

Of course, since my parents still live in Tallahassee, I've always got a place to crash for a weekend hunting trip up there, but I gotta tell ya....not many ducks to brag about up there, either. At least I've always got Merritt Island.