Targeting Redhead on the bay

Discussion in 'Diver Hunters Forum' started by FowlLanguage, Jul 27, 2017.

1. FowlLanguage

FowlLanguage New Member

I am going to target redhead ducks this year on the Chesapeake bay. I am fairly new to diver duck hunting so I have some questions. I do have five dozen blue bill decoys and two dozen canvasbacks three dozen buff heads and a dozen goldeneyes my first question is how many redhead decoys do I need to have for redheads? Second question can I mix all these decoys together or should I keep them separate or can I mix some of them together but keep other ones separate. Thirdly what size decoy does everyone prefer life size or magnum size.

Any information on this would greatly appreciated

2. cholt

cholt Senior Refuge Member

Here in north Al when glassing rafts of birds they are usually mixed in together in their own groups and some mixed up so we usually try to pair them up when setting up the cans usually decoy the best so we keep them towards the middle on either side of our main landing zone maybe this will help

3. cholt

cholt Senior Refuge Member

We usually hunt over 100 dekes

4. FowlLanguage

FowlLanguage New Member

So are you running long lines or setting all of the decoys one by one? And if your setting long line how close do you set the line together? Thanks for the the information

5. markd

markd Elite Refuge Member

You are in for a long season targeting redheads on the Bay. There just aren't that many.

We usually put out around 100 decoys plus some geese off to the side.

That said, you don't need all those buffie/goldeneye decoys, a half dozen of each set together on the edge of the rig will work fine, they tend to land with their own.

Canvasbacks don't seem to like cutting the other decoys...but sometimes they do....we typically set them on the outside line(s) of the spread just in case.

Redheads are a lot like blackheads in that they will land wherever in the decoys.