the rifle advise

Discussion in 'Turkey Hunters Forum' started by inter82, Dec 3, 2015.

1. inter82

inter82 New Member

hello guys, I am preparing for the turkey hunting, I will go hunting in April. I have zero experience and I do not have firearm. I should buy something before the spring. Who can help with the rifle shopping? $500. Will I be able to find something within this budget? Also, I need a good knife and flashlight. Please, provide me with some ideas or brand names.

Thanks

2. Native NV Ducker

Native NV Ducker Mod-Duck Hunters Forum, Classifieds, and 2 others Moderator Flyway Manager

Why rifle instead of a shotgun?

3. inter82

inter82 New Member

I mean a small caliber rifle (maybe Remington) I’m not very good in this and I’m not sure I need a rifle. I know that my neighbor uses a bow… Shotguns? What model would you advise? And where to buy it?

As for the knife now. I liked the falcon http://www.ebay.com/itm/Eye-Brand-C...-Knife-Stag-/121824667018?hash=item1c5d50e58a But I would not mind against something cheaper.

The light.. Currently, I do not have any. This is for 420 lumens (how to understand its brightness?) https://www.mrosupply.com/lighting/emergency-lighting/flashlights/2034764_6000_nebo/ Also, I heard that fenix flashlights are aslo good.

4. soiltester

soiltester Elite Refuge Member

I bought an O/U Savage 223 over 12 , with the intent of having a buddy download some nice 223 shells for softer & harder hitting back body shots in western states that allowed rifles. Shotgun for up close toms & rifle for longer shots. Never had a chance to make it west till' now and all I use is my Bennelli & sold the O/U ;)

5. stevena198301

stevena198301 Elite Refuge Member

Go shotgun. Give the birds a chance. I use one gun for all game I hunt.

As for a knife, I love my Old Timer Sharpfinger. It's a good all-around knife. $15 at Tractor Supply.

Most any flashlight will work. I don't understand this trend of high-end lighting needs.