Turkey broadheads

Discussion in 'Bow Hunting Forum' started by Trophyduck, Mar 17, 2017.

1. Trophyduck

Trophyduck Elite Refuge Member

Suggestions on broadheads? I was just going to use my deer setup. Any reason I shouldn't? I am real curious on the guillotine-type heads......Do they fly well or are they a pain to get flying true? I know each setup likes something different. Just curious if it's worth my time and $$ to buy some.....thanks
    Oh, one more.....I was going to have my daughter use my FIL's crossbow. Do the Guillotine heads fly out of crossbows?

2. NOLUCK

NOLUCK Senior Refuge Member

I use spitfires work just fine for deer or turkey

3. stevena198301

stevena198301 Elite Refuge Member

Deer heads will work. Right above the leg. I like Magnus Bullheads for bigger bladed heads. They fly consistent for me.

4. MJ

MJ Administrator Moderator Flyway Manager

I have been using the Bullheads for several years now. I'm dialing in a new bow today and have been cutting turkey head sized potatoes up to 20 yards. I highly recommend them. If your bow is tuned correctly they fly very consistently.

Short slow motion video of some potato carnage. I have no idea why it's over a minute long. It's a 12 second video on my phone.

Last edited: Mar 19, 2017
  5. Trophyduck

Trophyduck Elite Refuge Member

Thanks guys! Hey I have a curiosity question about these Bullheads....what if you "miss" and actually body shoot them, do they still kill? Everything says if you miss you don't have a wounded bird, which is great....But I was wondering what happens if you accidentally hit the bird.....

6. MJ

MJ Administrator Moderator Flyway Manager

I've hit a bird in the wing at 25 yards that was walking away. The arrow bounced off the bird and the bird flew away. I suppose if you hit the bird in the breast it's going to get cut, but I don't see that bird ending up dead from that wound. They likely get beat up more by spurs in a fight.