Upland hunting boots

Discussion in 'Upland Game Forum' started by Banded1, Oct 24, 2015.

1. Banded1

Banded1 Elite Refuge Member

I need a new pair. I've been wearing USA made Danners for 20 years. I have no problem going back to them but wondering if anyone has other suggestions. I seem to burn through them in a couple years. They'll be wearable but the waterproofing wears out and just generally worn out.

I prefer uninsulated and as smooth of a sole as possible if not completely smooth for ease of walking through grass. I would also prefer all leather uppers but that seems to be hard to find. I expect to pay upwards of $200 but will stay under $400.

Thanks!

2. icebreaker12

icebreaker12 Elite Refuge Member

I just got the Cabelas Upland Hunter. Have used it hiking lots of mountains and pretty steep terrain. Plus hunting blue grouse. Chasing chukar as well.

Zero complaints. I would recommend them to anyone.

3. 3.5 mag

3.5 mag Senior Refuge Member

Irish setters havocs great boot best I ever wore

4. Mark Brendemuehl

Mark Brendemuehl Senior Refuge Member Sponsor

Depends on the weather. If its cold, like December in Minnesota and upland hunting, I will wear a pair of insulated Rocky boots. If its warmer, I like Danner with no insulation, just Gore-Tex.

5. Squaller

Squaller Elite Refuge Member

I have yet to find a pair I like... I have a narrow foot with high arches, and do NOT want insulation for upland hunting...

Because of my narrow feet, I have even tried women's boots, but they are almost always insulated (which makes my feet feel like they are cooking on a strenuous upland hunt)... Plus they often make the soles and heel more narrow which I do not care for at all.