What are your experiences and recommendations for semi-auto shotguns under $800?

Discussion in 'Shooting - Reloading Forum' started by leftyhunter, Oct 9, 2016.

1. leftyhunter

leftyhunter Senior Refuge Member

Hi All,
    These days their are so many choices for semi-autos under $800. I am leaning towards the Stoger 3500 which gets good reviews and has a 5 year Limited Warranty. O f course their are many other choices an interesting one is the Stevens S1200 3 inch inertia shot gun but Savage only gives it a one year warranty.
    My personal experience with Under $800 semi-autos is about 7 or so years aga I bought a Stoeger inertia gun and I forgot the model number but it was not much more then $400 maybe even less. The internet reviews where roughly 50 -50 love or hate. It pointed great and was very light. Being an inertia gun it was very easy to clean and I am no mechanical genius.
    The bad part was it didn't always cycle light loads. I sent it back to Stoeger they returned it all was well then the bolt handle popped out during firing. I got frustrated and sold it to Martin b Retting in Culver City, Ca and bought the Weatherby Sa-800 which so far after hundreds of rounds is just fine and dandy. I also bought some used semi auto from Martin B Retting with a one year warranty the Browning Auto 5 and the Beretta 302 and they have always worked very well. The only criticism of the SA-08 is even with the light piston it won't always cycle the light loads such has Winchester universal which I use on pigeons. The Beretta 302 no problem.
    If MBR had a used Browning Gold or Winchester SX3 on sale for say $500 with some dings and scratches but the one year warranty I would jump on it.They did have a used Browning Auto 5 inch for $500. Nothing wrong with the Auto 5 but they are difficult to detail clean vs an inertia or modern gas gun.
    So boys and girls what has your experiences been in the above regard?
    Leftyhunter

2. musher

musher Elite Refuge Member