Boats & Blinds Forum Sponsors

Wide Mouth Decoy Bags

Discussion in 'Boats, Blinds, & Gadgets Forum' started by Pot Hole, Oct 13, 2016.

1. Pot Hole

Pot Hole Elite Refuge Member Sponsor

After 40 years of waterfowling, I am finally beginning to switch over to Texas rigged decoys. Naturally, my old mesh decoy bags aren't suited for removing and bagging Texas rigged decoys so I am looking for other options. I do have one Drake stand-up bag that works well for bagging Texas rigs and I am contemplating buying a couple more, but I figured some of you that have been using Texas rigs longer than I have would have some suggestions or could offer some critique on the wide-mouth bags on the market out there these days. I need a bag that stands up pretty well on its own, can hold a dozen or so standard decoys, and has good, solid shoulder straps. I've been looking online at the various bags that are offered, but I have no real-life experience with any of them.

Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

2. warrenwaterfowler

warrenwaterfowler Senior Refuge Member

I just clip them together about a dozen to a bunch and throw them in the boat. I'll wrap the clip end around the front Cross bar of the blind frame and clip it again to the lines. Done.

3. bill cooksey

bill cooksey Elite Refuge Member

Most don't bag Texas Rigs. Someone was making a bag for TX Rigs. It was basically open at both ends. You put the carabineer end all the way through and let the bag drop around the decoys. After that you cinched up each end.

4. Pot Hole

That would work if all my hunting was done out of a boat, but unfortunately I've got a number of walk-in spots that will require me to tote 1-3 dozen decoys on me and my son's back hence the need for a wide-mouth, shoulder-carry bag.

5. bill cooksey