Taxidermy Forum Sponsors

working time on prepped bird skin

Discussion in 'Taxidermy Forum' started by aythyafanatic04, Feb 22, 2017.

1. aythyafanatic04

aythyafanatic04 New Member

Hey guys. I am new to this forum and not very familiar with it but trying to get some info from different people with experience working with waterfowl. I have been mounting my own birds for the last 6 months, learned the basics of the process from a Joe Ferebee video I ordered and have pieced together and figured out the rest on my own but I have a lot of questions since I haven't had the opportunity to work underneath anyone who knows what they're doing. I will post another thread with a different pressing question I have but this one has to do with break time between prepping and mounting a bird. I find that once I have taken the time to do a good job skinning and fleshing a bird it is tough to go straight into mounting it without getting frustrated and it really helps to take a break and sometimes I don't even have 8 hours in a day to complete the whole process. I was wondering in general once you prep a skin if you would ever freeze it and mount it later (have done it a couple times and it seemed to have worked out fine) or how long you would let a prepped skin sit out before putting it on the form. Any knowledge you can offer would be much appreciated. Thanks.

2. Brad's Birds

Brad's Birds Elite Refuge Member Sponsor