Wsm ??

Discussion in 'Big Game Hunting Forum' started by MemStockBroker, Dec 8, 2009.

1. MemStockBroker

MemStockBroker Senior Refuge Member

Any of you boys shooting the different WSM's... Like the .270WSM or the .300WSM ?

Are the short mags fads, or here to stay ??

2. Zach Byron

Zach Byron Senior Refuge Member

They are unnecessary in my opinion. I shoot a .300 win mag, it has extremely close energy and velocity comparisons downrange, and by that I mean within like 10 ft/lbs! The ammo for the WSM's isn't nearly as available as the standard calibers, especially if you are in dire need of a box out in the middle of nowhere!

3. Too Tall Tomtl

Too Tall Tomtl Senior Refuge Member

I've been shooting a 270 WSM for 4 years and love it for for deer and hogs. While it is true most short magnums are comparible to standard magnums I find the 270 WSM is about a 20% improvement over a standard 270 and allows me some added versitility in some hunting conditions. :tu

4. cococreek

cococreek Senior Refuge Member

I shoot a .325 WSM and like it alot
    Killed an elk 444 yards this year shot him twice both shots passed thru
    at that range, of course I didn't hit a major bone either,
    I haven't had a deer to untrack with it yet
    It doesn't kick to bad either
    ammo can be a pain, of course where I live there is not much call for a gun this caliber anyway

My son, nephew and B-I-L all shoot 300 WSM and are well pleased ,ammo much easier to find

5. Waterproof

Waterproof Elite Refuge Member

I own the .243 WSSM, .300 WSM, and .325 WSM. Dad owns the .7mm WSM.

The .300 WSM, and .325 WSM are here to stay. WSSM's are fading and with the exception of the .243 WSSM have already stopped being produced. The .270WSM and 7mm WSM are no where near the sellers as their bigger brothers.

Ammo for the .300WSM is as common place as the .300 Win Mag now and it will be around for a long time after I am not.

6. Waterproof

Waterproof Elite Refuge Member