Yardage???

Discussion in 'Bow Hunting Forum' started by hunter0717, Oct 20, 2008.

1. hunter0717

hunter0717 Refuge Member

So I had an oppurtunity to take a shot at a decent 6 pt. the other evening but didnt take the shot due to him being what was about 25 yrds out down in about a 30ft ravine and i being 20 ft in the tree. So heres the question what yardage would you shoot at that deer being 25 yards out but some 50 ft below you? I guessed I would have shot him at what i would a deer 18-20 yrds out but wasnt sure so i let him walk. Any body else ever run into this problem?

2. RETRO

RETRO Elite Refuge Member

25 and aim a lil low and you should center punch it..

3. Dusty05

Dusty05 Senior Refuge Member

I would also try to use the correct yardage pin and hold really low. I am not experienced in that kind of an extreme angle shot. Maybe someone on here can tell us how well the new ARC range finders work. I say good on ya for lettin him walk when you were not sure of the shot.:tu I know that can be hard to do.

4. Double G

Double G Senior Refuge Member

Same shot two seasons ago with my Bushnell range finder telling me 27 yards with almost your same set up. Shot right over her. Picked up a Leupold range finder that tells you angle and true distance to shoot and there was a 7 yard difference. With the new range finder I no longer ask that question! Almost like cheating!

5. jimmyb

jimmyb Refuge Member

Not to hijack your thread but since we're talking about it.....Will a 25 yard shot out of a ground blind be the same shot as a 25 yard shot out of a tree. I've always been under the impression that shooting out of a tree would have less gravity then say a flatter trajectory shot from a ground blind. Therefore a 25 yard shot out of tree would really be closer to a 22 or 23 yard shot. Any thoughts?

6. Duckologist

Duckologist Elite Refuge Member

Gravity is a constant. There will be no less gravity in a tree versuses on the ground. The difference is the angle.