Yote calling question

Discussion in 'Varmint Hunters Forum' started by HeadHunter, Jan 12, 2011.

1. HeadHunter

HeadHunter Senior Refuge Member

I'm new to calliing and hunting yotes. I've experienced limited success this year bagging 4 yotes on 8 trips. So, any tips are appreciated as I am learning by trial and error. I've shot 2 at 20 yards, 1 at 60, and 1 at 90 yards from where I was set up. Ok, here goes for the questions:

After shooting a yote, do you leave the area? Or if you stay around how long should you wait until you call again? How long to wait in an area before declairing it to be 'no one home.'?

How often to you return to an area that you have already hunted and/or harvested a yote? (I'm concerned about educating them to the call)

How large is a yote's general range? 2 mi? 4 mi?

Thanks for the response and any tips.
    Mark

2. calling4life

calling4life Elite Refuge Member

After shooting, immediately hit the Kiyi call, you can use this call on and off for 10-15 minutes sounding like a hurt dog. You may just find another coyote wandering in wondering what happened.
    I called one in after a shot with a double rabbit in distress just recently here.
    It is worth a try, you don't need to stick around for another 30 minutes, but, it is definitely possible to call yotes in after a shot.

The other two answers are probably best answered by your local DNR, as location and numbers of coyotes play heavily on the answer.

But, if you go back and call the same spot, setting up in a different part of that property is always wise and will help, be it the next day, or two weeks later.

Good luck, and 4 dogs on 8 trips ain't half bad:tu

3. CutEmAll-Boyz

CutEmAll-Boyz Senior Refuge Member

Thinkin the same thing...Wish I had those odds all season!

4. riverrat09

riverrat09 Senior Refuge Member

Wish my success rates were that good.:cry

5. Leaky-NY

Leaky-NY Elite Refuge Member