zink calls question

Discussion in 'Goose Hunting Forum' started by newshooter, Dec 20, 2004.

1. newshooter

newshooter Refuge Member

I just started goose hunting this year and now I can't get enough. I heard that winlock calls are great for beginers so I bought the Delrin sr. I love it but from what I have read on this forum and videos you can never have to many calls. So I decided to get another one. Anyway, on with the question I decided on a zink call and I don't know which one to get. Like I said before I am new to this sport so I don't know much about them. I was thinking of getting the Paralyzer or a Power Maximus based on the price and what others on here have said. I figure you get what you pay for so I don't want to skimp out on a call but I also have read good thinks about the Power Clucker and the Power Maximus in the polycarbonates. I could buy both of those for about half the cost of the Paralyzer or the Power Maximus. So what are your opinions is one harder to blow than another or is one better for a beginer should I buy 2 for less money to have more options in the field or should I buy one of the more spendy ones for durability and relyability? any input would be great. Thanks

2. TTDuckman

TTDuckman Elite Refuge Member

I won't try to tell you what brand of call to buy. Each person has their own style. Your first short reed will not be your last. You will likely go through a few before you get exactly what you want. I would strongly urge you however, to find a good video for instruction if you are just starting out.

Tim

3. gdagoosehunter

gdagoosehunter Senior Refuge Member

im young but ive made the mistake of going with a name rather than what sutied me.....I wouldsuggest blowing several calls and finf whatever fits you the best.....i would go to a call retailer in the area like cabels and blow several calls and find what fits...that way you dont waste your money....not saying zink calls are a waste...bc i own one.....ne ways jsut my 2 cents