Zoom Lens Help

Discussion in 'Photography Forum' started by sculpin67, May 3, 2009.

1. sculpin67

sculpin67 Senior Refuge Member

How high a power do I need to take nice pictures of ducks? Enough to get some detail, but not to a Pitboss level. I'm a total newbie, and just got a Nikon D40. It came with a 18-55 lens. I've done a little research and it looks like a 105 and 200 lens is available. Thanks in advance for any help

2. stuwest

stuwest Elite Refuge Member

I would suggest lenses in the 300mm range for your D40. the 70-300 is an affordable and very sharp one to start with. Then you can go to the 300 prime, followed by the 80-400 and then the long primes.

3. Dizzy Duck

Dizzy Duck Elite Refuge Member

Geesh, I wonder if old Susky Gauge will ever reach the Pit Boss Level? Yall rekon he ever will?:joker

Brother Sculpin, on the Nikon Side, (The Dark Side) you need to look at the D300 or 700 as well!:fp

Anonymous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:yes

Sorry, I just could not resist!;)

4. sculpin67

sculpin67 Senior Refuge Member

OK - did some more research, and can get the 200mm for about $100. It looks like the 300mm is about $450 more. Since this is my first "real" camera, I'm leaning towards the 200mm. I'm assuming the 200mm will allow my to zoom in about 4x better than the 55mm - right?

5. stuwest

200mm will be 4x as close as the 55mm (or there abouts)

BUT, it won't be close enuf...

The 300 is just barely enuf. I also would not get a prime right away; the utility of the 70mm range will help you. And it should be in the price range of the 55-200 you were looking at.

After you know what you want, THEN get primes. The zooms will help you learn what you want/need.

Diz- leave the poor boy alone and go back to Tejas. I want gator shots...

6. Rubberhead

Rubberhead Elite Refuge Member

200mm ain't enough. One a crop camera, think 400mm minimum.

7. stuwest