Choke tube threads in the barrel are worn out - help!

Discussion in 'Shooting - Reloading Forum' started by rmk800, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. marsh fox

    marsh fox Banned

    Messages:
    6,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
    No he is not but his barrel could be. :joker
    Its no mystery whats gone wrong its a benneli and the choke area of the barrel has swolen like many of them do. Lets hope Benelli replace it.;)
     
  2. rmk800

    rmk800 Elite Refuge Member

    Messages:
    3,827
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Ut
    I don't own any other aftermarket chokes. The other standard issue chokes all do the same. That was the first thing I did. I took squallers reference to "other" manufactures chokes, not Benelli's. The threads appear to be worn. It's a weird deal....
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2014
  3. rmk800

    rmk800 Elite Refuge Member

    Messages:
    3,827
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Ut
    Yes I ran the thread chaser/cleaner through the threads. Threads are clean.:tu
     
  4. theduckguru

    theduckguru Elite Refuge Member

    Messages:
    2,906
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    ohio
    Did the chaser/cleaner screw into the threads properly?
     
  5. rmk800

    rmk800 Elite Refuge Member

    Messages:
    3,827
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Ut
    Yes, although it was loose or you could wiggle it from side to side a bit.
     
  6. MT Gunn

    MT Gunn Senior Refuge Member

    Messages:
    642
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    Reedley Ca.
    Did you buy it new or used? Any chance it got shot with out a choke tube installed? I hope Benelli does right by you. Good luck.
     
  7. theduckguru

    theduckguru Elite Refuge Member

    Messages:
    2,906
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    ohio
    I think you have expanded the barrel by shooting to large of shot and/or too fast a load through too tight of constriction or you have the worst corrosion problem I have ever heard of.
     
  8. Bull-sprig

    Bull-sprig Elite Refuge Member

    Messages:
    4,888
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Location:
    Arkansas on Village Creek the new Hurricane
    how about having mixed up mobil and crio chokes. Maybe the store screwed up and you got wrong chokes to start with.
     
  9. theduckguru

    theduckguru Elite Refuge Member

    Messages:
    2,906
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    ohio
    Why would a store remove the original choke tubes from the box?
     
  10. Squaller

    Squaller Elite Refuge Member

    Messages:
    24,575
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    Fresno, California
    I purchased a Beretta a few years back, and a couple of the chokes were way off the mark... Luckily, I checked the chokes with a gauge before signing the dotted line, and they exchanged the chokes before the purchase...

    Briley once sent me the wrong chokes for my gun (i.e. sent me mobil instead of Crio chokes for my M-2), and just about every after-market choke maker I have purchased from has sent me chokes that were off the mark and had to be sent back...

    I now check any new choke (whether factory or after-market) to make sure everything is correct.

    But to answer your question, cases or boxes could have fallen, the factory could have made the mix-up, or any number of possibilities pertaining to human error could have occured.
     

Share This Page