First season

Discussion in 'Photography Forum' started by IowaWaterfowler10, Jan 4, 2021.

1. IowaWaterfowler10

IowaWaterfowler10 Senior Refuge Member

This is my first fall working with a dslr. Finally connected on a few images I really like. I think I hit most of them with my ISO too high. I’m really green so suggestions are welcomed. I also have no idea on post processing so I took a shot in the dark there. Enjoy! 2A09FCF3-2FF3-40F0-A7B7-50F5A7F36180.jpeg 5D43591B-8575-43B4-A4E4-2A99F28564CB.jpeg C8BE54B7-AC3C-44DB-9924-1F2C5949341F.jpeg

dukejb likes this.
  2. IowaWaterfowler10

3. Rubberhead

Rubberhead Elite Refuge Member

Stunning work. Wow.

IowaWaterfowler10 likes this.
  4. Rubberhead

My thoughts...

I'm not a professional or expert but the colors are perfect. (It's easy to get heavy handed with saturation) and the depth of field (DOF) are also perfect for the shots (I assume that was on purpose).

The only constructive advice I can give is to pay attention to the background and foreground. The "bloody drip thing" in the spec picture is the only flaw in what could be a magazine cover. The righthand side of the held mallard photo is, again, stunning. The grass in the foreground is distracting as is the messed up feathers on the bird's head.

It might be me but the last photo is almost cliche but if you wanted to do anything you could level out the photo with the waterline in the background.

High ISO can lend a pleasing rustic grain to a photo especially with film. High digital ISO doesn't quite capture that feeling but can still add character to a photo and make it seem a little more "timeless". Learn from your "happy accidents".

The greenwings, boat and dog with the mallard photos are just wow.

mrbill and IowaWaterfowler10 like this.
  5. Rubberhead