Kitchen Knives

Discussion in 'Cooking Forum' started by Timber, Jan 16, 2020.

1. Timber

Timber Senior Refuge Member

Looking at getting a set of good knives for the kitchen. Who makes good knives, at a decent price?

2. Native NV Ducker

Native NV Ducker Mod-Duck Hunters Forum, Classifieds, and 2 others Moderator

Name brands cost money. May, or may not, be worth it, depending on your budget.

You would be well served to look at some Restaurant Supply places. You only need a few knives. Chef's knife, Paring Knife, Fillet knife, and maybe a Carving Knife (tho I use an electric for that)

Before I was an LEO, I was a Chef at a major hotel in Vegas. Nobody spent money on fancy knives. We got them from the local Restaurant Supply store.

Really 'hard' steel holds an edge longer. It is also harder to sharpen correctly. Softer steel is very easy to touch up.

Look at America's Test Kitchen for their reviews. They test many brands, side by side, and will give you a 'Best' and a 'Best Buy'. I find them to be right on the money.

This is an overview on how they tested the Chef's knives. For their recommendations, you have to be a member, but you can read the testing methodology. In the end, it was the Victorinox....
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000638D3...1367436406.1579192589&tag=shopperz_origin1-20

I have one, and love it so much I bought some for friends for Christmas. 4 years now, and still loving it. Their entire line is a good choice.

As a side note, for touching up your kitchen knives, I LOVE this....
    https://smile.amazon.com/Rada-Cutle...579192905&sprefix=Quick+edge+,aps,1252&sr=8-4

I eat a lot of diced tomatoes, and we want a nice sharp edge for that. A couple of pulls through that sharpener, once a week or so, and the edge almost falls through them. Small, cheap, can keep it on the back of the counter. 20 seconds, and you have a new edge.

Timber likes this.
  3. OneShotBandit

OneShotBandit Elite Refuge Member Supporting Member