Decoy Forum Sponsors

making cork decoys

Discussion in 'Decoy Forum' started by Sleddman, May 8, 2019.

1. Sleddman

Sleddman Senior Refuge Member

I am new to making cork decoys. made a dozen of them 30 years ago and am sure they have fallen apart by now. so i have some old dark brown cork left . yes it is 30 years old, lol. questions, #1, should i plate the bottoms with solid wood or a plywood, or none at all. #2, what should i seal the cork with, and filler for the cork holes. #3, what should i use to texture the bird with before painting. all simple things i could use the old trial and error technique but would be a great help from you all to do it right. thanks

2. creedsduckman

creedsduckman Elite Refuge Member

All I've ever used is dark cork. I put bottom boards on mine. Just pine shelving from Home Depot. I use the traditions sealer. I'll take cork dust and sealer to make a paste and smear all over the body to fill the voids then seal the bird. Paint with traditions acrylics. I've never done any texturing but would assume gesso would work. Right or wrong that's what I do. If I carved enough to make it worthwhile I'd learn to use oils.

WHUP ! Hen and copperatiosu like this.
  3. Neighbor Guy

Neighbor Guy Senior Refuge Member

I have never carved with dark cork, only fine grain tan cork. I do not use a bottom board on mine. I seal with slow cure epoxy on the bottom and up the sides past the water line, think side pockets height. I have done the entire bird with the sealer, but that’s overkill. I forget the brand, but it’s what you would use for a bar top or table.

After that, I prime with two coats of kilz, sanding between coats. That seams to do a good job of filling most of the voids in the cork but still leaving the textured look of cork. Then paint as I would a wooden bird. For vermiculations I use Liquitex modeling paste gel, tinted dark grey with either black or raw umber paint.