Mixing species in decoy spreads

Discussion in 'Goose Hunting Forum' started by lockingblock, Aug 10, 2019.

1. lockingblock

lockingblock Refuge Member

Is there a general rule on mixed species spreads in terms of which should go where or which geese don’t play well together?

Was thinking about some duck decoys as well ....same question, where in the goose spread and with which species of goose decoy?

2. Drake91

Drake91 Senior Refuge Member

Not sure how well this will answer ur question as up here on the east side of pa i general only get canada geese.. and I've mixed mallards in with them on late season field hunts worked pretty good even had woodducks decoy into em in early in october... but mixing more than that I have no experience with... only mixtures of decoy set ups I've seen on videos an TV was specks an snows mixed... I dont recall anyone mixing canadas in with em... but I dont know lol

3. lockingblock

lockingblock Refuge Member

Thanks. We get a ton of white geese....tens of thousands, but not as many Canadas.

I have a good corn field this year but it will be mostly dry (AR)...as it’s not flooded and is not flat enough to really put water on properly.

I’ve never done a dry field setup for ducks or geese but I’m tempted to try both. Just wondering what to mix with what and how.

4. Drake91

Drake91 Senior Refuge Member

Ya I hear alot of hunting up here is done on dry corn fields cause sometimes half way through the season ponds an marshes freeze... only open water is where birds are roosting... can make tough hunting at times trying to find that one hot field to hunt an if no one else beats ya to it... but it can be awesome

5. brentbullets

brentbullets Elite Refuge Member Supporting Member

If hunting dry fields Canada decoys and a couple of spinners is all you should need.

Drake91 and Wareagle1 like this.
  6. Native NV Ducker

Native NV Ducker Mod-Duck Hunters Forum, Classifieds, and 2 others Moderator