New guy on LI

Discussion in 'New York Flyway Forum' started by Dtonne85, Feb 12, 2019.

1. Dtonne85

Dtonne85 New Member

Newbie here on LI nassau county. Just got a new pup so hopefully in another year I'll have a duck dog and get out more often. Anyone else in nassau?

2. Tailfeathers

Tailfeathers Elite Refuge Member

I used to hunt the South Shore, freeport area etc. Moved to Va. great times, grew up as a marsh rat. It's nice you guys don't have blind laws.

3. TheCanMan

TheCanMan Senior Refuge Member

I grew up on the south shore in Nassau County, but moved up to north end of Westchester almost 20 years ago, and mostly hunt the Hudson Valley these days. I hunted Freeport a few times a couple of years ago, ran into a lot of Brant and Old Squaw, grew up fishing the channels out of Freeport my entire childhood, and also hunted LI Sound on the north shore in the recent past. Welcome to the Forum Dtonne85!

4. BAYDOG

BAYDOG Global Moderator Sponsor Moderator

Phelps,New York (Heart of the Finger Lakes)
    Welcome, I'm way upstate, Finger Lakes area.

5. Joey Clams

Joey Clams Senior Refuge Member

Welcome to Long Island,
    Nassau has great waterfowl hunting, but not without a boat, and you really need to watch your tides.
    Join your local Delta or DU chapter, or join South Shore Waterfowlers and make some friends.
    Good luck!

6. Tailfeathers

Excellent info above. Also there are some Long Island decoy gatherings, waterfowlers,carvers, not poo poo dealers. Is DELTA doing their dinner this year? What about the SSWA outdoor duck boat gathering?

7. Tailfeathers

8. Jay Mo 37

Jay Mo 37 Refuge Member

Welcome.. What brings you to Nassau County? I moved out to Suffolk County 14 yrs ago. Not too sure if there are many spots to hunt in Nassau w/o a boat?? But there are a good amount out here. And hunting geese I’m sure is next to impossible there as well??