New Hunter from the Willamette Valley

Discussion in 'Member Intros, Announcements, Refuge Gang Events' started by Oregonloved, Feb 19, 2019.

1. Oregonloved

Oregonloved New Member

Hey all, I'm new to hunting this year but am already loving the extra time outside and learning everything I can.

Only managed to put down a cottontail so far and just started goose hunting earlier this month.

Don't have much for equipment yet. 4 full body decoys I just bought but haven't used yet, been using 4 silhouette deeks I made myself. I have 2 calls, one flute and one short Reed. Haven't managed to call anything close enough for a shot.

Anyone here willing to take me out to and show me the ropes would be much appreciated. I'm 32, responsible and don't mind doing my part of the work. I'm really out to learn all I can. Hopefully bag at least one goose before March 10th but might have to wait and prep for the fall.

Thanks in advance for your knowledge

-B

2. API

API PAF-CA Flyway Moderator

Welcome aboard!!!! You’re on the right path. Be sure to checkout the Oregon subforum.

3. Old Carver

Old Carver Senior Refuge Member

I grew up hunting around Silverton and on over toward McMinville. We used lots of homemade silhouettes. They worked great. Alot of the commercial grass farmers qive permission to goose hunters (or at least used to when I lived there) A layout blind is real handy. Cover it with green and put out your silhouettes.
    Biggest key is drive around and see whose grass field is getting ravaged then ask permission. Scouting is one of your best tools.
    Good luck and good hunting

4. Oregonloved

Oregonloved New Member

As soon as turkey hunting is over I'm gonna hit that area for permission over the summer. I grew up in Silverton and hopefully can find a good plot of land in need.

Thanks for the response

5. Old Carver

Old Carver Senior Refuge Member