Quick question about rental property and LLC...

Discussion in 'The Duck Hunters Forum' started by The Other David, Oct 10, 2019 at 5:14 PM.

1. The Other David

The Other David Elite Refuge Member

My wife and I have a couple of rental properties. For reasons not clear to me (Tax Law!!! I have a PhD and I can't understand it!!!), we can not take a loss on our taxes, even though we are losing money every year.

Can/should we form an LLC as a pass-through so we can take advantage of that? Again, there is probably some Tax Law rule that ruins that for us, too.

Thank you for your quick and easy-to-understand answer!

David

2. PaulinKansas

PaulinKansas Elite Refuge Member

I thought the purpose of the LLC is to protect your personal assets from a lawsuit. The assets of the LLC (rental properties) are the only thing that can be lost.

You're probably losing money because of the depreciation expense, it's a non-cash expense.

3. The Other David

That, plus it can be used as a pass-through. Profit is treated as income, loss deducted from income.

4. da fowl slayer

da fowl slayer Elite Refuge Member

I don’t think the llc would change it since the actual loss or income passes thru to llc holders

5. WestTN Dux

WestTN Dux New Member

You have entered some of the more complex 1040 tax law that is out there, but I will try and nutshell it for you.

That will not do it. The problem is rental losses are passive period, no matter how they flow to your return. There is a $25,000 rental loss allowable, but if your income is too high that loss is not allowable(this is what is getting you by my estimation). You generally can only offset (net) passive losses with passive income. So going forward, you may want to go up on rent, lower expenses or buy another rental that you can turn a profit on to net with your loss property.

num70, Ducky CPA and J.Bennett like this.
  6. J.Bennett

J.Bennett Elite Refuge Member