Decoy Forum Sponsors

Stuffers

Discussion in 'Decoy Forum' started by Rick Egner, Jul 27, 2021.

1. Rick Egner

Rick Egner Senior Refuge Member

Going to take the plunge and make a couple stuffer decoys before the season starts. Was looking for some do's & dont's, mainly the type of connection from body to stand, movement vrs no movement! Hunted over some a few times in Washington but never paid real attention but it seemed to me like they were mounted on a spring. Thanks

2. Big Daddy Gaddy

Big Daddy Gaddy Elite Refuge Member

I had a bunch years ago Rick and they were attached to a square plywood base with a regular heavy taxidermy wire. Good luck with them…send pics! Mine were ugly hand me down stuffers and they were a pain to store, but they worked.

creedsduckman likes this.
  3. Montauker

Montauker Elite Refuge Member

I am no expert but I have seen many made with a small wire loop or just a metal bolt with a nut on the end painted black that comes up through the back of the decoy. You can't see it from 20 feet away but it allows for ease of handling the decoys

4. fowlwhacker

fowlwhacker Elite Refuge Member